Eddie Olczyk

Professional ice hockey center, Eddie Olczyk, or “Eddie O” as he is known, played 16 seasons in the NHL, scored 342 goals and recorded 794 points in 1,031 games with the Chicago Blackhawks, Toronto Maple Leafs, Winnipeg Jets, New York Rangers, Los Angeles Kings, and Pittsburgh Penguins. He won the 1994 Stanley Cup with the Rangers.

Growing up in Palos Heights, Illinois, Olczyk began his NHL career as an 18-year-old with his hometown Chicago Blackhawks in 1984. He spent three seasons in Chicago, recording 180 points in 228 games. He spent the next three seasons in Toronto, where he scored a career-high 42 goals during the 1987-1988 campaign and recorded a career-high 90 points during the 1988-1989 campaign.

Olczyk was traded to Winnipeg and played two-and-a-half seasons with the Jets, recording 142 points in 150 games. From 1992-1995, he played with the Rangers, winning the Stanley Cup in 1994, before heading back to the Jets in their last season in Winnipeg (1995-96). Olczyk began playing the 1996-97 season with the Los Angeles Kings but was traded to the Pittsburgh Penguins, where he played parts of two seasons with Pittsburgh before returning to the Blackhawks to finish his career. He retired from the NHL in 2000.

Following his playing career, Olczyk returned to Pittsburgh to embark on a career as a broadcaster. From 2000-2003, he called games for Fox SportsNet Pittsburgh, as well as ESPN, ESPN2, and NHL Radio. In 2003, Olczyk moved from the booth to the bench as he was named the Head Coach of the Penguins. After two years as head coach, he returned to broadcasting during the 2005-06 season, serving as an analyst and studio host for versus and NBC.

Beginning in 2006-07, Olczyk is now in his seventh season as the television color analyst for the Chicago Blackhawks. He and broadcast partner Pat Foley have received an Emmy for “Outstanding Achievement-Sports Program Live Series.” Amongst all of his accomplishments, on July 11, 2012, Olczyk became the 16th Blackhawk elected into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame.